Ella Pugazhum Iraivanukke

Oh yes. It’s a new place. On the bright side, you can all comment on this blog without any trouble. So, can we just get on with what we’ve been doing every day?

The other day when A R Rahman performed at MTV Unplugged, a friend of mine sent me an email that asked me what I thought of A R Rahman’s ability to flaunt his Tamil and Muslim identity on national/ international stages with such flair (or something to that effect). We had a long discussion about it that evening – a conversation I am saving you (and myself) from.

While I am awfully biased about Rahman’s music (obviously as a fan), there is something about him as a person – his beliefs, his charm, and his business acumen – that I find extremely interesting.

Talking about his schooling, his meeting with Prince Charles, his ‘spiritual journey’, there is a strange sense of melancholy and tranquillity in what he’s saying. I’ll shut up now and let you watch the video. It’s 47 minutes long. Take the time out and you will not regret it.

One thought on “Ella Pugazhum Iraivanukke

Have an opinion, do you?